Happening at the bookstore

  • Wednesday, March 29, 2017 - 12:00pm to 2:00pm

    Join Writer's Block Bookstore as we welcome Randy Wayne White at the First Congregational Church of Winter Park on Wednesday, March 29th at 12:00pm!

    New York Times bestselling author Randy Wayne White returns in MANGROVE LIGHTNING, the 24th electrifying novel in the series starring marine biologist (and undercover black-ops agent) Marion “Doc” Ford and his trusty, Master of Zen sidekick, the Right Reverend Tomlinson. The two laidback heroes are going to need all of their considerable resources to take on their latest challenge, which involves a life-threatening scandal for a lesser member of the British parliament, lots of venomous aquatic creatures and a century-old family curse rearing its fatal head.

    Randy Wayne White lives on Sanibel Island, Florida, where he was a light-tackle fishing guide for many years, and spends much of his free time windsurfing, playing baseball, and hanging out at Doc Ford’s Rum Bar & Grille.

  • Wednesday, March 29, 2017 - 6:00pm

     

    Come out and join us on March 29th at 6:00PM for our book club next meeting! Our book this month will be A Certain Age by Beatriz Williams! 

    This bestselling author brings the Roaring Twenties to life in this enchanting and compulsively readable tale of intrigue, romance, and scandal in New York Society, brimming with lush atmosphere, striking characters, and irresistible charm. Meet the iridescent Mrs. Theresa Marshall of Fifth Avenue and Southampton, Long Island, as she stumbles through life and love. 

    Feel free to call in to order, or get a copy from our website. Mention you're a member and get 10% off! See you all on March 29th!

  • Sunday, April 2, 2017 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm

    After suffering a humiliating and life-threatening encounter in high school, Jubilee becomes a recluse, holing herself up at home for nine years, with only her beloved books as company.   When we meet Jubilee, she has just received a call informing her of her mother’s death.  No longer receiving her mother’s financial support, Jubilee is forced to leave the comforts of her home and face the outside world and its inhabitants…for the first time in nearly a decade.   

    CLOSE ENOUGH TO TOUCH is an evocative story—one of love, heartbreak, and the strength of the human character.  Readers will be excited to read a unique, modern love story by a writer that we at Gallery Books feel is an American Jojo Moyes.

    Colleen Oakley is an Atlanta-based writer and author of the critically acclaimed novel Before I Go.  Her articles, essays, and interviews have been featured in the New York Times, Marie Claire, Redbook, Parade and more. 

  • Monday, April 3, 2017 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm

    The internationally bestselling author of dozens of acclaimed novels with over 7 million copies in print, Davis Bunn, a four-time Christy Award winner, is beloved by legions of fans. Now, with the April 2017 release of Miramar Bay, Bunn turns his formidable talents to romantic women’s fiction in the tradition of Nicholas Sparks, Richard Paul Evans, and Jan Karon. An uplifting tour de force, Miramar Bay will capture readers’ hearts everywhere with a compelling story of two strangers finding second chances in a small coastal town.

    Davis Bunn is an internationally bestselling author, published in 21 languages and with more than 7 million books in print. He is a 4-time Christy Award winner and has received much acclaim for his novels across multiple genres, including historical fiction, inspirational, suspense and women’s fiction. He and his wife now divide most of their time between the coast of Florida and the English countryside, where Davis serves as Writer in Residence at Regent’s Park College, Oxford University.

  • Wednesday, April 12, 2017 - 6:00pm

    On Wednesday, April 12th at 6:00PM, Writer's Block Bookstore presents New York Times Best-selling author Jeffery Deaver at the First Congregational Church of Winter Park!

    His new book, "The Burial Hour," features his beloved characters, forensic detectives Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs. Sachs and Rhyme find themselves playing a dangerous game, with lives all across the globe hanging in the balance.

    A businessman snatched from an Upper East Side street in broad daylight. A miniature hangman’s noose left at the scene. A nine-year-old girl, the only witness to the crime. With a crime scene this puzzling, forensic expertise of the highest order is absolutely essential. Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs are called in to investigate.

    Jeffery Deaver is the #1 international bestselling author of over thirty novels and three collections of short stories. His books are sold in 150 countries and translated into 25 languages. His first novel featuring Lincoln Rhyme, The Bone Collector, was made into a major motion picture starring Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie. He’s received or been shortlisted for a number of awards around the country. For more, please visit JefferyDeaver.com.

    We will also be hosting a VIP Meet and Greet to benefit the Winter Park Public Library! 

    VIP Meet and Greet with Author Jeffrey Deaver
    Wednesday, April 12, 6 – 6:30 p.m., First Congregational Church Fellowship Hall 
    Spend some time with #1 international bestselling author Jeffrey Deaver at this exclusive meet and greet event before the public book signing. Enjoy drinks and light refreshments and a chance to chat with the author. Tickets are $50, only one ticket per couple required and includes one copy of “The Burial Hour.” Additional copies of the book may be purchased at the event. This special event benefits the Winter Park Public Library. Purchase tickets at http://www.writersblockbookstore.com/event.

    Book Signing with Author Jeffrey Deaver

    Wednesday, April 12, 6:30 First Congregational Church Fellowship
    Jeffrey Deaver a number 1 bestselling international author, will greet fans and sign copies of his latest work, The Burial HourRSVP through the website or Eventbrite.