Jewish Book Festival of Central Florida at the JCC

Learn & laugh with these Jewish authors at the literary event of the year, co-presented by the Writer's Block Bookstore and The Roth Family JCC of Greater Orlando. There will be complimentary babysitting at the JCC for children ages 2-12; advanced registration is required and is done at the time of your ticket purchase.

-- TICKETS FOR SALE --
https://orlandojcc.org/bookfest

-- 11:00AM-12:00PM: Behind-the-Scenes with Ronald Balson --
A Harper Lee Award Finalist in Legal Fiction, Balson is the author of Karolina’s Twins, Saving Sophie, and the international bestseller Once We Were Brothers. His new book, The Trust, has private investigator Liam Taggart travel to his uncle’s funeral, only to discover he was murdered.

--1:00-2:30PM: Panel Discussion: All You Need is Laugh --
JEN GLANTZ, PROFESSIONAL BRIDESMAID
Jen posted an ad on Craigslist advertising her services as a professional bridesmaid. When she woke up the next morning, it had gone viral. What began as a half-joke suddenly turned into a lifetime of adventure. Hear about her adventures, including her memoir, Always a Bridesmaid (For Hire).
GABY DUNN & ALLISON RASKIN, YOUTUBE STARS
These two best friends live in Los Angeles and founded the comedy YouTube channel Just Between Us. They have worked together and separately for Buzzfeed, Sourcefed, and Fullscreen. Their new book is I Hate Everyone But You.

-- 4:00-5:00PM: Mishpacha: Wherever You Go, There They Are (Keynote) -- ANNABELLE GURWITCH
An actress & author, including the New York Times bestseller, I See You Made an Effort. Her latest book, Wherever You Go, There They Are is a hilarious and insightful look at family. 
She was the co-host of Dinner and a Movie on TBS. Her essays and satire have appeared in more than a dozen national magazines.
“In Wherever You Go, There They Are, Annabelle Gurwitch takes inspiration from her own life to examine that most horrible of all human conditions: family. This hilarious and insightful book reminds me why I’m so, so happy that I didn’t have children!” —Bill Maher

Event date: 

Sunday, October 29, 2017 - 11:00am to 5:00pm

Event address: 

851 N Maitland Avenue
Maitland, FL 32751
The Trust Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250127440
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - September 19th, 2017

The newest novel from bestselling author of Once We Were Brothershas private investigator Liam Taggart returning to his childhood home for his uncle’s funeral, only to discover he was murdered.

 


I Hate Everyone But You Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250129321
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Wednesday Books - September 5th, 2017

A debut from two emerging major talents in YA, this is a story about new beginnings, love and heartbreak, and ultimately about the power of friendship.


Karolina's Twins Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250089045
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - August 15th, 2017

In the tradition of The NightingaleSarah's Key, and Lilac Girls, comes a WWII saga inspired by true events from Ronald H. Balson, author of the international bestseller Once We Were Brothers.

 


Wherever You Go, There They Are: Stories about My Family You Might Relate to Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399574887
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Blue Rider Press - April 18th, 2017

A hysterically funny and slyly insightful new collection of essays from New York Times bestselling author Annabelle Gurwitch, about her own family of scam artists and hucksters, as well as the sisterhoods, temporary tribes, communities, and cults who have become surrogates along the way.


Always a Bridesmaid (for Hire): Stories on Growing Up, Looking for Love, and Walking Down the Aisle for Complete Strangers Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781501139062
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - February 7th, 2017

In the tradition of Sloane Crosley, Mindy Kaling, and Katie Heaney, a hilarious and insightful memoir about one New York City Millennial’s journey to find herself, her dream career, and true love, all while juggling a truly unique job as the world's only professional bridesmaid.

 


Saving Sophie Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250065858
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - September 15th, 2015

From the author of Once We Were Brothers, Liam and Catherine team up again to investigate an embezzlement case, and discover a link between their prime suspect, a kidnapping, and a terrorist cell

 


Once We Were Brothers Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250046390
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Griffin - October 8th, 2013

The gripping tale about two boys, once as close as brothers, who find themselves on opposite sides of the Holocaust