Local Authors

We are very proud to be the bookseller to so many talented local Florida authors.  Here is a list of some of the books we have.  This is not a comprehensive list, we are adding to it all the time.  If you don't see one of your favorite authors, please let us know or search for the book in the search box and place an  order and we will get it in for you.  

The Room on Rue Amelie Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501171406
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: Gallery Books - March 27th, 2018

For fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly’s Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family—by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again—tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II.

Pre-order signed copies here

 


Downsizing the Family Home: A Workbook: What to Save, What to Let Go Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781454926528
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Sterling - January 2nd, 2018

Building on the award-winning Downsizing the Family Home, this guide—part journal, part workbook, part scrapbook—gently walks downsizers through their profound journey.


Snickerdoodle Takes the Cake Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780823437849
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Holiday House - October 17th, 2017

When Snickerdoodle gets up before the rest of the family, he is thrilled to find one of Mom’s Famous Lemon Poppy Seed Cakes. Unfortunately it has a note on it that says “Do Not Touch.” In this test of his willpower, Snickerdoodle will attempt to bend the rules, and it will not go well for him. But Snickerdoodle will also use his brainpower to devise a plan that just might save the day.
A charismatic clan of chinchillas confronts everyday problems in this humorous story of family life and foibles.


Staff Pick Logo
Vanished! Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781481436335
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - August 22nd, 2017

Perfect for mystery buffs with “elements of Alex Rider, James Bond, and Sherlock Holmes,” (School Library Journal) the Framed! series stars the only kid on the FBI Director’s speed dial and several international criminals’ most wanted lists!


Because of the Sun Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399551451
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - January 3rd, 2017

Dani learned to tolerate her existence in suburban Florida with her brash and seemingly unloving mother by embracing the philosophy Why care? It will only hurt. So when her mother is killed in a sudden and violent manner, Dani goes into an even deeper protection mode: total numbness. It’s the only way she can go on.

But when Dani chooses The Stranger by Albert Camus as summer reading for school, it feels like fate. The main character’s alienation after his mother’s death mirrors her own.

Dani’s life is thrown into further turmoil when she is sent to New Mexico to live with an aunt she never knew she had. The awkwardness between them is palpable. To escape, Dani takes long walks in the merciless heat. One day, she meets Paulo, who understands how much Dani is hurting. Although she is hesitant at first, a mutual trust and affection develops between them. And as she and her aunt begin to connect, Dani learns about her mother’s past. Forgiving isn’t easy, but maybe it’s the only way to move forward.


Undertow: My Escape from the Fundamentalism and Cult Control of the Way International Cover Image
By Charlene L. Edge, Ruth Mullen (Editor), Duane Stapp (Designed by)
$24.95
ISBN: 9780997874709
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: New Wings Press, LLC - December 15th, 2016

An author recounts her experiences with the religious group The Way International in this debut memoir.

 

Kirkus Reviews says: "A frank, in-depth account of one woman’s struggles in a controlling organization."


Autofocus Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062302236
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Teen - June 14th, 2016

A contemporary YA novel that’s perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Stephanie Perkins. When Maude decides to search for more information about her birth mother, she finds out more than she expected.


How to (Almost) Ruin Your Summer Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781492637745
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky - June 7th, 2016

Chloe isn't sure which part of Camp Minnehaha is worse: her bunkmate Victoria or a goat named King Arthur
There is no way eleven-year old Chloe is going into the sixth grade riding her old pink bicycle! But before she can earn money for a new bike, she's shipped off to career camp


Forty Martyrs Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781941681947
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Burrow Press - March 29th, 2016

Juventud Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781940430584
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Curbside Splendor Publishing - October 27th, 2015

Fifteen years after the harrowing afternoon that sent Mercedes fleeing Colombia, she returns to confront her father about what happened.


 

IPPY, Bronze, Literary Fiction
Foreword Reviews' INDIEFAB Book of the Year, Finalist
The Eric Hoffer Award, First Runner-Up in General Fiction
The Montaigne Medal, Finalist


A Place We Knew Well Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780804176545
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bantam - September 29th, 2015

For 13 days in October 1962, the world held its breath—seemingly on the brink of nuclear war. Set against the backdrop of Cold War panic and politics, this enthralling novel tells the intimate and human story of a family whose own hearts are at war. Perfect for fans of Judy Blume’s In the Unlikely Event.

For the Avery family, the dark days of the Cuban Missile Crisis mark a turning point in their lives which will shape and forever change them. McCarthy captures pitch-perfectly the panic, tension, insanity and innocence of the time. The Avery family forms the emotional center of the novel, as their world starts to unravel during the heart-stopping buildup to the Cuban Missile Crisis.

This book is set in College Park.