National Book Foundation 5 Under 35 Honorees 2017

Share this
The National Book Foundation announced the 2017 5 Under 35 honorees, a selection of debut fiction writers under the age of 35 whose work "promises to leave a lasting impression on the literary landscape." Each author was selected by a National Book Award Winner, Finalist, or writer previously recognized by the 5 Under 35 program, and these honorees represent some of the best that the world of literary fiction has to offer. 5 Under 35 honorees are writers from around the world, under the age of 35, who have published their first and only book of fiction—either a short story collection or a novel—within the last five years.

  • Lesley Nneka Arimah, author of What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky: Stories (Riverhead Books / Penguin Random House) 
    Selector: Chris Bachelder, 2016 National Book Award Finalist for Fiction
  • Halle Butler, author of Jillian (Curbside Splendor) 
    Selector: Lydia Millet, 2016 National Book Award Longlist for Fiction
  • Zinzi Clemmons, author of What We Lose (Viking / Penguin Random House) 
    Selector: Angela Flournoy, 2015 National Book Award Finalist for Fiction and 5 Under 35 honoree
  • Leopoldine Core, author of When Watched: Stories (Penguin Books / Penguin Random House) Selector: Karan Mahajan, 2016 National Book Award Finalist for Fiction
  • Weike Wang, author of Chemistry (Knopf / Penguin Random House) 
    Selector: Sherman Alexie, 2007 National Book Award Winner for Young People’s Literature
What We Lose Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9780735221710
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking - July 11th, 2017

From a debut author of rare, haunting power, a stunning novel about a young African-American woman coming of age—a deeply felt meditation on race, sex, family, and country.


Chemistry Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781524731748
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - May 23rd, 2017

A luminous and very funny debut novel from a 5-Under-35 honoree that has already received praise from the likes of Ann Patchett, Stephanie Danler, and Ha Jin: Chemistry follows a young Chinese American woman who must discover what she really wants before her life can truly begin.


What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky: Stories Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735211025
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - April 4th, 2017

A dazzlingly accomplished debut collection explores the ties that bind mothers and daughters and men and women to each other and to the places they call home.


When Watched: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143128694
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - August 9th, 2016

The provocative, astute, and highly anticipated debut story collection from a 2015 Whiting Writers’ Award winner, in the tradition of Lorrie Moore, Deborah Eisenberg, and Lydia Davis


Jillian Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781940430294
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Curbside Splendor Publishing - February 17th, 2015

Jillian dreams of an idyllic future. Megan hates Jillian. They search for identity while answering phones and filing colonoscopies.