National Book Foundation Fiction Longlist 2017

The King Is Always Above the People: Stories Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781594631726
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - October 31st, 2017

A master of the short story returns in this virtuoso collection. For readers of Adam Johnson, Anthony Marra, Juan Gabriel Vasquez.


Staff Pick Logo
Her Body and Other Parties: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977887
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graywolf Press - October 3rd, 2017

Short Listed

A highly anticipated debut by “one of the most ferociously gifted young writers working today” (Michelle Huneven)


Manhattan Beach Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781476716732
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner Book Company - October 3rd, 2017

The daring and magnificent novel from the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad—“propulsive, surprising, ravishing, and revelatory…a profound page-turner that will transport and transform every reader.”—Booklist (starred review).


Staff Pick Logo
Sing, Unburied, Sing Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501126062
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner Book Company - September 5th, 2017

WINNER

In Jesmyn Ward’s first novel since her National Book Award–winning Salvage the Bones, this singular American writer brings the archetypal road novel into rural twenty-first-century America. An intimate portrait of a family and an epic tale of hope and struggle, Sing, Unburied, Sing journeys through Mississippi’s past and present, examining the ugly truths at the heart of the American story and the power—and limitations—of family bonds.


A Kind of Freedom Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781619029224
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Counterpoint LLC - August 15th, 2017

A moving tale of love and the consequences of American racial disparity spanning three generations of a New Orleans famil


The Leavers Cover Image
By Lisa Ko
$25.95
ISBN: 9781616206888
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Books - May 2nd, 2017

Short Listed

Lisa Ko’s powerful debut, The Leavers, is the winner of the 2016 PEN/Bellwether Prize for Fiction, awarded by Barbara Kingsolver for a novel that addresses issues of social justice.


Miss Burma Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780802126450
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grove Press - May 2nd, 2017

Set against the vibrant backdrop of Burma from the 1940s to the 1960s, Miss Burma is a powerful and epic novel that follows one prominent Burmese family struggling to find love, justice, and meaning during a time of war and political repression 


Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist) Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781455563937
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grand Central Publishing - February 7th, 2017

Short Listed

In this bestselling, page-turning saga, four generations of a poor Korean immigrant family fight to control their destiny in 20th-century Japan, exiled from a home they never knew.


Barren Island Cover Image
Email or call for price (407)355-4192 or infor@writersblockbookstore.com
ISBN: 9781936970445
Availability: Out of Print/Uavailable for Order
Published: New Issues Poetry & Prose - February 7th, 2017

“What’s extraordinary about Barren Island isn’t just its wild corner of history—a shoal off the shores of Brooklyn, whose factory boils down animal carcasses for ‘glue and grease’—but its remarkable imagining of the lives of families there. At its center is a resourceful young girl coming of age, and the novel does what only fiction can do—it presents the human intricacies we could hardly guess. An amazing piece of work.”—Joan Silber, National Book Award Finalist for Ideas of Heaven: A Ring of Stories, and the PEN/Hemingway Award for Household Words


Dark at the Crossing Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781101947371
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - January 24th, 2017

Short Listed

A timely new novel of stunning humanity and tension: a contemporary love story set on the Turkish border with Syria.