Coop Knows the Scoop (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Coop Knows the Scoop By Taryn Souders Cover Image

Coop Knows the Scoop (Paperback)

$7.99


Usually Ships in 7-10 Business Days

Staff Reviews


— From Past Author Events

2021 Edgar Award Nominee for Best Juvenile Mystery

From award-winning author Taryn Souders comes a charming, southern middle grade mystery perfect for fans of Stranger Things and the Masterminds series.

The whole town is talking about what's buried beneath the playground...

Windy Bottom, Georgia is usually a peaceful place. Coop helps his mom at her café and bookstore, hangs out with his grandpa, bikes around with his friends Justice and Liberty, and is determined to live up to his dad's legacy. Windy Bottom is full of all kinds of interesting people, but no one has ever caused a problem. Until now.

And somehow, Gramps is taking all the blame! It seems like there are a lot of secrets that were buried in their small town after all...

Will Coop and his friends get to the bottom of the mystery and clear Gramps's name before it's too late?

You will love Coop and his adventures if you are looking for:

  • Mystery books for kids 9-12
  • Heartfelt and quirky stories for young readers
  • Kids detective books
  • 5th grade mystery books

Taryn Souders graduated from the University of North Texas with a specialization in mathematics. She is the author of Edgar-nominated Coop Knows the Scoop as well as How to (Almost) Ruin Your Summer. She lives in Winter Park, Florida, with her family. Visit her at tarynsouders.com.

Product Details ISBN: 9781492640189
ISBN-10: 1492640182
Publisher: Sourcebooks Young Readers
Publication Date: July 7th, 2020
Pages: 304
Language: English

"Coop Knows the Scoop is a gem of mystery with everything you’re looking for in a whodunit from the pitch perfect setting, to the heartwarming hero, and a plot that will keep you guessing until the end." — James Ponti, Edgar Award-winning author of Vanished!



"An engrossing, good-humored page-turner. " — Kirkus Reviews



"Artfully composed and offering several genuine surprises, this mystery will have young readers speeding through it in a quest to uncover the truth." — Booklist



"[For] libraries with plenty of voracious, and patient, mystery readers." — School Library Journal



"Delightfully quirky townsfolk and details of small-town life create the perfect backdrop for this deftly plotted mystery by Souders (How to [Almost] Ruin Your Summer). Well-placed red herrings and clues will have readers guessing until the truth comes out. " — Publishers Weekly

"[Pleasingly] dark with its secrets, lies, and murder, and it’s pleasingly free of predictability as the author unravels the story. Lovers of mysteries are sure to appreciate the uniqueness of this piece" — The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books