War Master's Gate (Shadows of the Apt #9) (Paperback)

War Master's Gate (Shadows of the Apt #9) Cover Image
Check with Store


War Master’s Gate is the ninth book in the critically acclaimed epic fantasy series Shadows of the Apt by Adrian Tchaikovsky, winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award.

A city makes its last stand . . .

Relentlessly advancing towards Collegium, the Empire is again seeking to break down the city’s walls. The mighty imperial armies have learnt from their failures, and Empress Seda will brook no weakness in her soldiers. After all, Stenwold Maker has earned his title, and the War Master has strategies to save his city. His aviators rule the skies—but the Wasp Kinden Empire has developed a terrifying new aerial weapon.

Yet the campaign may be decided far from marching armies and the noise of battle. In an ancient forest, where Mantis clans pursue their own civil war, the Empress Seda is seeking a lost power of the old world. Cheerwell Maker must stop her, at any cost, but will their rivalry awaken something far deadlier? Something that could make even their clash of nations pale into insignificance . . .

War Master’s Gate is followed by the tenth and final book in the Shadows of the Apt series, Seal of the Worm.

About the Author

Adrian Tchaikovsky was born in Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire, and headed off to university in Reading to study psychology and zoology. For reasons unclear even to himself, he subsequently ended up in law. Adrian has since worked as a legal executive, in both Reading and Leeds, and now writes full time. He also lives in Leeds, with his wife and son. Adrian is a keen live role-player and occasional amateur actor. He has also trained in stage-fighting and keeps no exotic or dangerous pets of any kind—possibly excepting his son.

Adrian is the author of the critically acclaimed Shadows of the Apt series, the Echoes of the Fall series and other novels, novellas and short stories. The Tiger and the Wolf won the British Fantasy Award for Best Fantasy Novel—and Children of Time won the Arthur C. Clarke Award for Best Science Fiction Novel. This was in the award’s thirtieth anniversary year.

Praise For…

Series praise:

"Tchaikovsky tests all his characters in the full knowledge that many will fail, some heroically and others in despair. Readers who like their military fantasy to come with real consequences will be completely enthralled." Publishers Weekly

 "All the elements that made the first four novels so good are still here—inventiveness, action, great world building and [this] novel achieved the tricky thing of combining familiarity with the new in all of its aspects that is a landmark of major leading sff series… A++." Fantasy Book Critic

‘Tchaikovsky clearly has a great deal of talent, and a real handle on the fantasy genre, with the ability to splice in different influences almost seamlessly’ SciFiNow

‘Reminiscent of much that’s gone before from the likes of Gemmel, Erikson, Sanderson and Cook but with its own unique and clever touch, this is another terrific outing from Mr Tchaikovsky’ Sci-Fi-London

‘Occasionally a fantasy author comes up with a way to break the mould of traditional genre tropes: M. John Harrison’s Viriconium and China Mieville’s Perdido Street Station are two examples that immediately spring to mind. Tchaikovsky, on this evidence, looks like a new addition to that select hall of fame’ Death Ray

‘The insectile-human premise is inventive, shaping the world in all sorts of ways’ SFX

‘Full of colourful drama and non-stop action involving mass warfare and personal combat, Dragonfly Falling brilliantly continues the Shadow of the Apt epic fantasy series that began in Adrian Tchaikovsky’s remarkable debut novel, Empire in Black and Gold.’ Fantasy Book Critic

Product Details
ISBN: 9781529050424
ISBN-10: 1529050421
Publisher: Tor
Publication Date: May 15th, 2022
Pages: 736
Language: English
Series: Shadows of the Apt