FLORENCE ADLER SWIMS FOREVER with Rachel Beanland

Join us for a virtual book launch event with Rachel Beanland in conversation with Fiona Davis!

Debut novel, Florence Adler Swims Forever is a heartwarming, tender family saga with nuanced characters and a propulsive, twisty plot that raises fascinating questions about the lengths we go to in order to protect the people we love the most, all set against the wonderful backdrop of the Jewish community in 1930's Atlantic City.

Fans of Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney, Anita Diamant, Fiona Davis and Beatriz Williams will love Florence Adler Swims Forever, a novel set in the years just before WWII that examines our tendency to keep secrets from the people we most love most. These themes of secrecy, sacrifice, and the mistakes we make along the course of our lives bolster the book's gripping plot and lyrical writing and lends itself perfectly to book club discussion. While Florence Adler Swims Forever offers a nuanced lens into the Jewish émigré experience in America preceding WWII, the second half of the book unfolds with an indelible love story that is both captivating and surprising, and ultimately, uplifting. The novel is based on true events that place in the author's family more than eighty years ago. The title character, Florence Adler, is inspired by the author's great, great aunt who was also a masterful swimmer who drowned at a young age and whose death was temporarily kept hidden from her sister.

Click here to register today!

 

Event date: 

Sunday, July 19, 2020 - 1:00pm

Event address: 

virtual event
with the Orlando JCC
Winter Park, FL 32789
Florence Adler Swims Forever: A Novel Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781982132460
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - July 7th, 2020

The Chelsea Girls: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781524744588
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton - July 30th, 2019

Event Type: